Holy Trinity Church of England

Primary School

Growing Tomorrow's Leaders

The zodiac calendar

The Chinese Zodiac



The Chinese Zodiac consists of twelve signs and is determined by the Chinese Lunar Calendar. It is based on the cycles of the moon, unlike our western or Gregorian calendar which is based on the solar cycle. In Chinese astrology, there are 12 Chinese Zodiac signs. Because the moon's cycle repeats itself every 12 years, there are 12 animals in the Chinese Horoscope - one for each year of the lunar cycle. The 12 animals in the Western Zodiac in contrast, are assigned to each solar month.


Take a look at the calendar below, can you figure out which of the 12 zodiac signs you are based on your year of birth? 

Watch the video below to find out how the Zodiac calendar came to be. Then have a go at creating your own shadow puppets to recreate the story. 

Puppet lesson.mp4

Still image for this video